What is your passion?

Recently someone asked me why I love to take photos, specifically of people.  There are many reasons:  to express myself, to create a record, to meet people, to have fun, to see something in a new way, to create a piece of art.  But I think what inspires me most, what makes my heart sing most, is to capture a connection.  A connection between me (my camera) and my subject, or between the subjects I am photographing.  I love seeing the sparkle in the eye, or the intimate moment between siblings or parents and their children. 

In this chaotic world, our family and friends are the things we can count on, the relationships that are strong.  No matter what our financial, work or health situation – the connections between us are what matters.  That is very true for us right now as our friends have been there for us as my husband rides the storm of this difficult job market, and that means more than anything to me.

So that’s why I love to take photos – to record those connections and to provide that for others.  I love to document my life and to document it for others – for their own enjoyment and for their kids and their grandkids. And as I said in my first post, I love the feeling of creating something that means so much.

So, connections – that intimate, moment between family, friends or even strangers, that shows our humanity and our vulnerability, and our strength.

All content is the copyright of Louise Fletcher Photography.

Leave a Reply

