For the love of books

I love books, I really do.  Reading is such an important and lovely part of my day.  It usually only happens for half an hour before bed time, but man, I so look forward to it.  Reading is like a warm shower or a walk in the sun, it’s my little escape as a parent.

Reading has always been part of my house growing up – lots of books and book shelves.  Mum was an art teacher with a degree in fine art so we had beautiful art books as well as every variety of fiction.  I married a man who came with baggage – mostly books, and now my home is filled with books and the girls love to read or be read to.

Rachel is on a mission to complete the Premier’s Reading Challenge asap!

The library is one of our favourite places to visit.  There are always way too many books on my list, and often fines to pay.  As much as I love the online library catalogue and managing my account, I sometimes wish there was a “beam me up Scotty” library service that had the next book on your list materialise in your microwave  or something.  I’d also love the library to keep a record of all my borrowings.  I have been too lazy to write them down.  I’d love to remember how many books I’ve read this year and what they were.  There must be an app for that!

And now that I have a Kindle (thanks Dad), I would really love my library to have an electronic book loan service.  Did you know that books out of copyright can be downloaded and kept for free?  Wuthering Heights was my first electronic book.  I love Wuthering Heights.  LOVE it!  Must charge the Kindle and read it next… again.  One great thing about my academic, literary minded school, was all the classics we had to read.

My book reading tastes waver but generally I like: “slightly in the future” science fiction; autobiographies; espionage; thrillers; recipe books, a good saga, various non-fiction,,,  I’m not really into historical novels, tear jerkers or chick lit (ok, maybe a bit).

Recently I’ve loved

The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins – disturbing but I could not put it down.  Mockingjay, the final book, was disappointing I thought.

Open by Andre Agassi – wow – the most brutally honest and moving autobiography I have ever read.

The Help by Kathryn Stockett – although I knew about the brutality and racism of the American south at the time, this book opened my eyes to the strength and tenderness of the people who lived there.  It reminded me so much of my time living in South Africa in the 1980’s.  So many similarities.

The Quilt by Susan Wiggs – a beautiful story about letting go and moving on as a mother drives her daughter across the US to take her to university and deals with the loss of her child and finding a new role.

The Land of Painted Caves by Jean Auel – The last of 5 in the series.  It was tough to get through and it took 2 attempts, but I wanted to finish it, and I have.

The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin – an inspiring look at how to be responsible for our life and our own happiness.

Carla Coulson (various books) – an Aussie who changed her career and her life as she moved to Italy, then France and is now a successful fashion photographer.  Beautiful images and words.

I would love to hear what you are reading – I’m looking for my next book (after Wuthering Heights that is).

All content is the copyright of Louise Fletcher Photography.

4 thoughts on “For the love of books

  1. Hi Lou, I’m with you. I love to read. Currenly reading a number of books including The Slap and Hiroshima Nagasaki. Have you heard about Bookcrossing.com. I have been a member since 2004.

  2. Oooh, I love reading too. I’m grateful for my communist Bulgarian education too. We read lots of classics as well. I’m always reading few books at the time. I was happy to read your list & discover I’ve read or currently reading many of your books too. We just purchased two Kindles and I’m so excited, because there is no book store anymore close by(they’ve closed Borders, ooh how I loved Borders) and I order mostly Fishpond, Amazon or The Book Depository now. I’m very impatient and I don’t like waiting 2-3 weeks to receive a book. Now I’m looking forward to purchasing few for Kindle (& not only), and on my list are: “Dare, Dream, Do” by Whitney Johnson, “Running Pink” by Megan Norris, “Plate to pixel”, “Cold Snap: Bulgaria Stories” by Cynthia Phoel and many more. Reading at the moment “The Happiness Project”, “The Hunger Games” 2 & Buddism for mothers 🙂

    1. Oh, I loved Borders too, although we have a Berkelouw Books near us. Pricey but wonderful arty books. My library is my new bookshop! I use book depository mostly but compare prices first. I’m going to add some of your suggestions to my reading list.

Leave a Reply

