The oldest mum rules

Well, on Mother’s Day, anyway, and so it should be!  It is really all about her.  And so it was in our family this year.

Mothers Day was spent with my family, my Mother-in-law, my sister-in-law and her kids.  We sat in the sun at her house for brekkie and laughed and talked and enjoyed a sumptuous feast prepared with no help from the oldest mum, despite some objections.  On the menu was: smoked salmon, cream cheese, capers and lemon; fresh, warm croissants with various sweet toppings; fruit salad with yoghurt and rhubarb compote; sausages for the kids and to top it off, freshly brewed coffee and bubbly and orange juice.

No photos – we were all too busy eating.

We also presented Mark’s mum with her 80th birthday album.  At her party we had all the guests (family & friends) bring a story, letter, poem, memories and photos to contribute to a “This is your Life” style album.  Combined with the photos from the day, we put together a book of memories.  I think it could have been one of her best Mother’s Day gifts ever.

                    My beautiful mother-in-law enjoying her album with her son.It was also a day to remember my mum who died 7 years ago.  I miss her mostly on these days, when her absence is felt by me, and my girls.  They never met my mum as she died while I was pregnant with my oldest daughter.  But I speak of her often and so they know her in some small way.

       My mum with her first grandchild (my sister’s son) not long before she died.I looked through old photo albums while preparing this blog post and was surprised at how few images there are of me with my mum.  There are plenty of shots of me on my own and with my younger siblings as they arrived, but very few of the two of us.  That made me sad and realise that I need to make an effort to make sure that I have more shots taken of me with my girls.  So they will have them long after I am gone.

                                                           Me and my mum.Those family photos are my most precious possessions, especially now that mum is no longer here.  So, I urge you all to make sure you get someone to take a photo of you with your kids today!  And tomorrow.  And one day soon, book in a session with a professional photographer.  And take shots of your kids with your mum (and dad).  But don’t stop snapping away.

My daughter and her gran.

All content is the copyright of Louise Fletcher Photography.

One thought on “The oldest mum rules

Leave a Reply

