Winter blues and Nuffnang Blogopolis – YAY

I have been absent from blogging for the longest time!  The details are dull but they involve various things including:

  • a stick in my daughter’s eye and trips to emergency and doctors.  One more check up but she is fine.
  • School holidays – enough said!
  • A horrendous cold followed by the worst flu virus ever – me in bed for 8 days and still recovering my energy after nearly 3 weeks.
  • The kids getting the flu virus – sigh.

But, that is in the past, it’s a new day, a new term and I am BACK!

In all of that I attended the Nuffnang Blogopolis Conference at the Sofitel Hotel in Sydney.  What a fabulous event for bloggers from all over Australia to connect, have fun, network and learn and grow as a blogger.  And I did.

Me, very excited on the ferry coming into the city for BlogopolisToo long since I wandered the city streets (alone) on a beautiful winter morningThe presenters came from every sphere of blogging:  music, craft, food, parenting, fashion, styling, hair, photography, personal musings, sustainability, design, travel.

One of the panel discussionsThe catering was fabulous, from brekkie, to High Tea, to lunch and refreshments. We sampled a whole range of fabulous new Twinings Teas, including 3 new Earl Grey varieties.  Many of you will know how much of an Earl Grey girl I am.  Well, the new Orange Blossom, Lavender and Jasmine Earl Grey varieties are my new love.

High Tea, sponsored by Twinings with Royal Albert tea settingsDid I mention how good the food was – wow!Being a blogging conference, there was a permanent screen up showing live tweets from the day.  Too funny.

Breaking news while we were hard at work, about TomKat! I have never seen so many iPhones, iPads, laptops and tablets in one place at one time.

New friends at my tableWhat a fabulous day.  I learned so much and was newly inspired about my business, my blog, my branding and how to move forward.  Maybe not such a surprise I got sick and took a break from blogging.  Overload!

We were even given a goodie bag to take home, containing so much great stuff, and worth more than the value of the ticket.  My only thought was that the “gifts” were very parent oriented, and although the audience was mostly women, and many had children, not everyone was a mum, and not everyone was a mummy blogger.  A nice lip gloss or funky piece of jewellery might be a great gift for next year…

And then there was chat and champagne and eventually back to reality.  Whew.  Wonderful to feel so much a part of a fabulous, progressive and smart community.     Thank you Nuffnang.

All content is the copyright of Louise Fletcher Photography.

Leave a Reply

